Piecing it Together

Today was a busy day. To start, last night I turned all the alarms in the house off so that no one – not even the dog – would wake up before 7. 7:15 was when the boys came up to visit me in my bed. They played as I drank excessive amounts of coffee and decided on what weird projects I would tackle on this my only day off this week. So as my sons holed up in their playroom, I set to work clearing off the computer table and wiping it and the armoire down before breaking out the furniture polish (for the first time since the purchase of said furniture) to make it shiny and loved again.
After that, I decided it would be a great idea to install hooks in the garage. The boys have a habit of either leaving their backpacks in the car on the floor or bringing their lunchboxes and backpacks in and dumping them on the floor or the couch before zipping off to the playroom. I’ve gotten them to bring their stuff in so they can start ther homework after a snack. Oddly, both of them get a folder of homework on Mondays that’s due on Friday. We try to get as much done on Monday and Tuesday as patience allows. Back to the project. As I untwisted the hooks from the board that the previous owner may or may not have glued to the wall, I was reminded of the mentality I hold onto even since buying the house. It’s still occuring to me that it’s now my dead bush under the front window or my bizarre paper towel dispenser attached to the wall of the garage. Or my ceramic tile that’s glued to the countertop next to the stove as a permanent spoon rest (come on!). And I’m still getting used to the fact that he’s not going to come back and have me put everything back the way it was. So after I removed the tiny hooks from the board, I traced holes from an old silver set of hooks I kept from a piece of furniture and pulled out my beloved drill to make pilot holes for the new little screws. As I drilled, that old familiar smell of warm wood and sawdust began to intoxicate me. I am thoroughly convinced that that’s why people get into the business or hobby. That smell. There is something very comforting about it. Almost as if what you’re building or destroying is right. Or will be better as soon as you’re finished with it. And so after I drilled the pilot hiles, I grabbed my favorite red magnetic screwdriver and screwed each hook in. Then I put each backpack in its place and showed the boys that this is now the home of their school-related belongings.
I also took the liberty of removing the odd plastic contraption that I’ve been hanging my keys on. It seems as though it was a plastic box for holding things but the problem was that it didn’t have a back and didn’t hold much of anything and only the top two corners out of the four total were attached to the wall. So it wiggled a lot and I feared that something would inevitably come up to attack my hand from the inside of the piece. Plus the hooks always screwed sround in the wrong direction and I like things to be neat and even. And stable. That old plastic box is now sitting in the trash. The hooks from project one became the new keyhooks until I can get my act together and get a nice shelf with hooks that I can pile mail and other papers on instead of put them away . . . Ooops I meant so if there’s anything I need to take with me for the day I can just keep it on the shelf until I leave.
And then I decided to cut my smaller dog’s hair. He’s a west highland terrier named Samson, Sam for short and affectionately “Hammy”. He will be five here in December and he has been to the groomers’ a few times in his life. But honestly, the groomers are a little too expensive for my taste and trimming his hair and talons gives us a chance to spend some quality time together. I always “groom” him on the kitchen floor because there’s no traction on the (currently) linoleum floor for him to use to escape. Plus it’s faster for me to just slide him wherever I may need him to go. After cutting and clipping and trimming him, I brushed him, clipped his claws, then combed him, and trimmed a little bit more. I was amazed at how much dirt and fur came off of this dog. Then again, we do live in the desert. I’m saving a bath for him until next week, as I want him to smell nice for the Halloween Party.
It was definitely time to vacuum the staircase. It’s been years since I cleaned a staircase. In fact, the last staircase I cleaned was in my great grandparents’s house. The carpet was a light green but it was so worn that there was no length to the carpeting to give the tiny red handheld Dirt Devil any resistance. And that was over ten years ago. For a long time, I assumed the light brown bits of fuzz all along the walls on the floor in my current living room and on the sliding glass door track were just parts of the new carpeting the previous owner had installed before we moved in that got ripped up when the dogs tore around the house. It was only after vacuuming each step and aggressively scrubbing at each with the brush attachment on the vacuum that I realized that all those coarse furballs were indeed created by all the single hairs my boxer sheds all over the place by rolling and running and being reprimanded by the terrier. The hairs were then eventually rounded into shapes and kicked off to the side in all the wild running around that goes on behind these closed doors. Solution: vacuum more frequently, brush the dog? and make sure that filter stays clean. I don’t need to blow a motor on a vacuum.
And lastly, before I get off to bed, a note about party planning: the guest list was much more difficult to write than I thought it would be. The list for my son’s birthday party was kind of a given. Family and the usual suspects made the list and he is very happy to have friends to his birthday party this year. But planning an in-between event that’s going to be interactive and very very fun was difficult to create a gurst list for. Then I began to realize how fortunate I am to have so many people in my life who I care about and that I want to invite into my home and spend time with. I have so many that not all of them will fit into my living room. Lucky me.
Now if I could only stop coming up with mini projects to complete before this Saturday night . . .

About Renee

Native to Tucson and a mother of two! Been practicing yoga for over 8 years and making art and calligraphy pieces for most of my life. I want to help people learn to communicate with themselves and others. View all posts by Renee

Questions? Comments? Thoughts?

